Soccer: Armenian Cup winners since 1992

The Guardian
May 9 2004

Armenian Cup winners since 1992

Sunday May 9, 2004 8:26 PM

YEREVAN, May 9 (Reuters) – Results of Armenian Cup finals since the
competition began in 1992 after the collapse of the Soviet Union:
Season Winners Runners-up Score 1992 Banants Abovyan Sports Union of
Armenia Yerevan 2-0 1992-93 Ararat Yerevan Shirak Gyumri 3-1 1993-94
Ararat Yerevan Shirak Gyumri 1-0 1994-95 Ararat Yerevan Kotaik Abovyan
4-2 1995-96 Pyunik Yerevan Kotaik Abovyan 3-2 1996-97 Ararat Yerevan
Pyunik Yerevan 1-0 1997-98 Tsement Ararat Yerevan Yerevan 3-1 1998-99
Tsement Ararat Shirak Gyumri 3-2 1999-2000 Mika Ashtarak Zvartnots
Yerevan 2-1 2000-01 Mika Ashtarak Ararat Yerevan 1-1

(Mika Ashtarak won 4-3 on penalties) 2001-02 Pyunik Yerevan Zvartnots
Yerevan 2-0 2002-03 Mika Ashtarak Banants Yerevan 1-0 2003-04 Pyunik
Yerevan Banants Yerevan 0-0

(Pyunik Yerevan won 6-5 on penalties)

– – – –

All-time winners of Armenian Cup finals since the competition began
in 1992:

4 – Ararat Yerevan

3 – Mika Ashtarak, Pyunik Yerevan

2 – Tsement Yerevan

1 – Banants Abovyan (Banants Abovyan became Banants Yerevan in 1998)

Note: Ararat Yerevan were the only Armenian team to win the Soviet
Cup in 1973 and 1975.

From: Emil Lazarian | Ararat NewsPress

Emil Lazarian

“I should like to see any power of the world destroy this race, this small tribe of unimportant people, whose wars have all been fought and lost, whose structures have crumbled, literature is unread, music is unheard, and prayers are no more answered. Go ahead, destroy Armenia . See if you can do it. Send them into the desert without bread or water. Burn their homes and churches. Then see if they will not laugh, sing and pray again. For when two of them meet anywhere in the world, see if they will not create a New Armenia.” - WS