International Hrant Dink Award to be presented today

The International Hrant Dink Award will be presented for the seventh time on Hrant DinkÔÇÖs birthday, September 15.

The award ceremony will take place on September 15th, 2015, Tuesday at at Istanbul Congress Center.

Every year, the award is presented to two people, groups or institutions from inside and outside Turkey, who work for a world free of discrimination, racism, and violence, take personal risks for their ideals, use the language of peace, and by doing so, inspire and encourage others. With this award, the Foundation aims to remind to all those who struggle for these ideals that their voices are heard, their work is visible and that they are not alone, and also to encourage everyone to fight for their ideals.

The Jury of the International Hrant Dink Award 2015 consists of ┬áProfessor, Political Scientists, author Bask─▒n Oran, Alex Manougian┬áChair in Modern Armenian History in Michigan University, Ann Arbor Gerard Libaridian, executive director of Human Rights Watch, attorney Kenneth Roth, International Executive Director of Greenpeace Kumi Naidoo, Professor of Global Governance at the London School of Economics and the Director of the Civil Society and Human Security Research Unit Mary Kaldor, Sociologist, author Oya Baydar, President of the Hrant Dink Foundation Rakel Dink, 2014 International Hrant Dink Awardee, Forensic Medicine Specialist, ┼×ebnem Korur Fincanc─▒ and 2014 International Hrant Dink Awardee, Peace Activist, Angie Zelter.

Journalist, author Alper G├Ârm├╝┼č (2009), journalist, author Amira Hass (2009), the Conscientious Objection Movement of Turkey (2010), jurist Baltasar Garz├│n (2010), journalist, author Ahmet Altan (2011), journalist, Human Rights activist Lydia Cacho (2011), author ─░smail Be┼čik├ži (2012), Human Rights Organization International MEMORIAL Society ÔÇô Russia (2012), Human Rights activist Nata┼ía Kandi─ç (2013), Saturday Mothers / People (2013), ┼×ebnem Korur Fincanc─▒ (2014) and Angie Zelter (2014) are the former laureates of the International Hrant Dink Award.