Armenia Underscores The Creation Of Parliamentary Partnership Format


Oct 26, 2009

YEREVAN, OCTOBER 26, ARMENPRESS: Head of the NA’s European Integration
Affairs permanent commission Naira Zohrabyan participated October
19-22 in the capital of Sweden Stockholm in the launching conference
of creation of Eastern Partnership parliamentary format.

NA public relations department told Armenpress that during the
conference the suggestions of 6 member states of Eastern Partnership
were presented and how the participants imagine the parliamentary
format of the partnership – the "Euronest" – which may be a serious
impetus to the main platforms established by Eastern partnership as
well as for the solution of economic integration issues of the EU
partner states.

Naira Zohrabyan in her speech presented the suggestions of the Armenian
side, noting that Armenia highlights the creation of parliamentary
format of partnership which will give an opportunity by using flexible
parliamentary instruments and parliamentary diplomacy promote the
European integration of partnership countries.

Speaking about the cooperation among the partner states, which is the
main component of the Eastern partnership, N. Zohrabyan referred to
the biased policy of Azerbaijan which essentially impedes the solution
of prior issues.

Referring to the Armenia’s approaches over "Euronest", she said that
it will be unacceptable for the Armenian side if Azerbaijan tries to
turn the parliamentary partnership format into a format of conflict
solution, adding that the continuation of suchlike policy of Azerbaijan
will take this important initiative to a deadlock.

In response to the speech of the representative of Azerbaijani
parliament in which false and disorienting information about Nagorno
Karabakh was voiced, N. Zohrabyan submitted a written application to
representative of Sweden chairing the conference, Goran Lenmarker,
suggesting to draw the attention of EU partner member states to the
unconstructive policy of Azerbaijan, and calling on EU to display
a clear attitude toward the not constructive steps and statements
of Azerbaijan.

As a result of the conference is was decided in the shortest period
of time sum up the issues connected with the formation of the
parliamentary format and establish the "Euronest".

According to initial agreement, the Eastern Partnership Parliamentary
Assembly will consist of 120 parliamentarians: 60 from EU member-states
and 10 from each partner state – Armenia, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine,
Azerbaijan and Belarus.

You may also like