Bush adds countries eligible for US aid

Bush adds countries eligible for US aid

Agence France Presse — English
November 9, 2004 Tuesday 6:40 PM GMT

WASHINGTON Nov 9 — President George W. Bush has expanded a list of
countries eligible for US aid in 2005 under his Millennium Challenge
Account program, White House spokesman Scott McClellan said in a
statement Tuesday.

Bush added Morocco to MCA-eligible nations Armenia, Benin, Bolivia,
Georgia, Ghana, Honduras, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mongolia,
Mozambique, Nicaragua, Senegal, Sri Lanka and Vanuatu, said McClellan.

Six other countries — Burkina Faso, Guyana, Malawi, Paraguay,
Philippines and Zambia — were declared eligible in 2005 for Threshold
Program grants designed to help them qualify for MCA monies, the
spokesman said.

They will join Timor-Leste, Kenya, Sao Tome, Tanzania, Uganda and

To be eligible for money from the so-called Millennium Challenge
Account — expected to total five billion dollars by 2006 —
countries must demonstrate commitment to three standards: ruling
justly, investing in their people and encouraging economic freedom.