Two ARF lawmakers skip electoral code vote

Two ARF lawmakers skip electoral code vote




YEREVAN, OCTOBER 29, ARMENPRESS. ARF (Dashnaktsutyun) faction MP Andranik Karapetyan and MP Romik Manukyan did not attend the voting for the electoral code amendments bill today.

The bill once again failed to be adopted.

62 lawmakers voted in favor, two voted against. 63 votes were required for the bill to pass.

The remaining MPs from the 105-seat parliament did not vote.

Parliament records show that Manukyan and Karapetyan did not attend the session. Other MPs from the ARF voted in favor.

All 31 MPs from the Tsarukyan faction, all nine MPs from the Yelk faction voted in favor.

The MPs who had withdrawn from the Republican (HHK) faction also voted in favor.

Republicans who had joined the petition on calling early elections in December 2018 also voted in favor.

Deputy Speaker (HHK) Arpine Hovhannisyan and HHK MP Armen Ashotyan voted against the bill.

Edited and translated by Stepan Kocharyan

You may also like

Emil Lazarian

“I should like to see any power of the world destroy this race, this small tribe of unimportant people, whose wars have all been fought and lost, whose structures have crumbled, literature is unread, music is unheard, and prayers are no more answered. Go ahead, destroy Armenia . See if you can do it. Send them into the desert without bread or water. Burn their homes and churches. Then see if they will not laugh, sing and pray again. For when two of them meet anywhere in the world, see if they will not create a New Armenia.” - WS