Nato New Secretary General Takes Up Office

12:55 03/08/2009

The new Secretary General of NATO, Mr. Anders Fogh Rasmussen, took
up his duties on 1st August 2009, foreign media reports.

His first day at NATO HQ will be Monday 3 August. On arriving he
will be greeted by the Deputy Secretary General, Ambassador Claudio
Bisogniero, Ambassador Per Poulsen-Hansen, the Dean of the Council,
and Admiral Giampaolo di Paola, Chairman of the Military Committee.

On Tuesday 4th August Mr. Rasmussen will chair his first North Atlantic
Council Meeting.

Note that on 30 July, NATO Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer
returned to NATO Headquarters to bid farewell, his tenure ending on 31
July 2009. He met with his closest civilian and military colleagues,
and many members of international and military staff were on hand
to wish him a fond farewell. Jaap de Hoop Scheffer has been NATO’s
Secretary General since January 2004.