Azerbaijan, Iran, Others To Work Together


United Press Interntional
July 2 2008

Azerbaijan, Turkey, Georgia, Iran and Russia are in talks to join
their power grids.

The announcement was made by the Azerbaijani energy minister after
a meeting with his Iranian counterpart, local newspaper Ekho reported.

Armenia, which has been at odds with Azerbaijan for the last 20 years,
will reportedly not be allowed to join the project. The project,
involving five states, aims to further improve electricity supplies
and open the way for the sale of electricity to Europe.

Turkmenistan is also reportedly showing interest in this project,
Azerbaijani Industry and Energy Minister Natiq Aliyev said.

"We, together with Iran, are establishing a new concept which envisages
the presence of the ring power circuit inclusive of Russia, Azerbaijan,
including the Naxcivan Autonomous Republic, Iran, Turkey and Georgia,"
Azerbaijani Energy Minister Natiq Aliyev said.

Parviz Fattah said the group is in preparations for the July
commissioning of the second Imisli-Parsabad power line, which will
increase the level of electricity exchange between the Iran and
Azerbaijan from 250 megawatts to 700 megawatts.

You may also like