Elections of RA president being held in republic

DeFacto Agency, Armenia
Feb 19 2008


YEREVAN, 19.02.08. DE FACTO. On February 19, at 8 a.m. local
time the elections of RA President started in the Republic. 1,923
electoral districts opened on the territory of RA.

The total number of electors makes 2,328,320 people. In
avoidance of the possibility of double voting seals testifying to the
fact that they have already voted will be attached to RA citizens’
passports. 6 international observation missions, including those from
the OSCE, the PACE and the CIS have been registered at the RA Central
Electoral Commission.

9 candidates have been nominated for RA President: the leader of
the National Solidarity Party Aram Harutyunian, the leader of the
Orinats Yerkir Party Arthur Baghdasarian, the leader of the National
Unity Party Artashes Geghamian, the leader of the People’s Party
Tigran Karapetian, the leader of the National-Democratic Union Vazgen
Manukian, former Advisor to NKR President Arman Melikian, a member of
ARF Dashnaktsutyun Bureau Vahan Hovhannisian, RA PM, the leader of
the Republican Party Serge Sargsian, RA first President Levon

To note, electoral districts will be closed at 8 p. m. The first
preliminary data on the results of the voting will be promulgated on
February 19, at 9 p. m.

You may also like