AAA: Genocide Resolution Gains as Additional Lawmakers Offer Support

Armenian Assembly of America
1140 19th Street, NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-393-3434
Fax: 202-638-4904
Email: [email protected]

August 3, 2007
CONTACT: Christine Kojoian
E-mail: [email protected]


Grassroots Activism Helps Build Crucial Support

Washington, DC – A congressional resolution that reaffirms the
U.S. record on the Armenian Genocide and urges the President to
acknowledge the genocide, gained additional support this week as
Congressmen John Hall (D-NY), Ray LaHood (R-IL) and John McHugh (R-NY)
signed on as the bill’s latest cosponsors, bringing the total number
of cosponsors to 224 Members to date.

H. Res. 106, introduced by Congressman Adam Schiff (D-CA), calls upon
the President to "ensure that the foreign policy of the United States
reflects appropriate understanding" of the "Armenian Genocide" and to
"accurately characterize the systematic and deliberate annihilation
of  1,500,000 Armenians as genocide," in the President’s annual

Earlier this week, Congressman Joe Knollenberg (R-MI), an original
cosponsor of the resolution and co-chair of the Congressional Caucus
on Armenian Issues, urged Congress to pass H. Res. 106, which is
supported by a majority of House Members.

In a statement for the congressional record, Knollenberg said in part:
"By acknowledging the events of 1915, Congress will finally recognize
the history of an entire nation – a nation whose population was driven
out of their homes, massacred, but never forgotten," Knollenberg

"The United States owes Armenians recognition of this great crime, and
should pass House Resolution 106," he added.

"We’re pleased that the Armenian Genocide resolution continues to
garner such wide-spread support and thank Congressmen Hall, LaHood and
McHugh for their stand on this issue," said Assembly Executive
Director Bryan Ardouny.  "We also thank community members who are
joining us in urging lawmakers to sign on as the resolution’s
cosponsors in the face of Turkey’s ongoing denial campaign."

H. Res. 106 is currently pending before the House Foreign Affairs
Committee, of which Tom Lantos (D-CA) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
serve as the Chair and Ranking Member. Both Lantos and Ros-Lehtinen
voted in favor of an identical resolution (H. Res. 316) before the
Committee last Congress.  

Established in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest
Washington-based nationwide organization promoting public
understanding and awareness of Armenian issues.  It is a 501 (c) (3)
tax-exempt membership organization.