Central Bank issues collector coin dedicated to 30th anniversary of national currency


YEREVAN, AUGUST 23, ARMENPRESS. On , the Central Bank of Armenia introduced the “30 Years of National Currency” silver collector coin into circulation.

The collector coin is dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the national currency, the Central Bank said in a press release.

The national currency of the Republic of Armenia, the dram, is one of the symbols of independent statehood. The dram was put into circulation on November 22, 1993. During 30 years of the dram existence, several series of circulating banknotes and coins, as well as other types of currency of the collectors’ interest – circulating commemorative coins, collector banknotes, collector and investment coins – have been issued.

The first collector coin of the Republic of Armenia was issued in 1994. Since then, the Central Bank of the Republic of Armenia has issued more than 440 names of collector coins made of gold, silver and copper-nickel, dedicated to prominent Armenians and landmark historical and cultural events. Banknotes and coins of the Republic of Armenia are produced with the use of state-of-the-art technologies offered by security printing and mintage, and meet modern international standards of quality and security.

The consistent and purposive work on improving the quality of the banknotes and coins of the Republic of Armenia has brought in many awards and high appreciation at prestigious international numismatic contests.